created: May 30th, 2012 10:21 pm

Scheduled for release on June 5th, "Total Breakdown: Hidden Transmissions From The MPC Era, 1992-1996" is a major new archival release exposing Shadow's early production on the Akai MPC. Included among the highlights are instrumental tracks from an aborted 1994 EP planned with The Gift Of Gab, which includes the original demo of what would eventually become "Six Days."

The new collection of "MPC Era" tracks follows on from the much-loved "4-Track Era" releases from 2008 and 2009, and establishes a pattern which should be familiar to Shadow fans.

"I like to follow up new material (such as the recent 'The Less You Know, The Better' LP) with a tastefully-done archival project," Shadow explains. "As long as the old stuff is given a context and doesn't overshadow the new, I think it's a healthy exercise for me, and one that re-calibrates me for whatever new musical path lies ahead. I think it's important to revisit where you've been occasionally so that you can determine where to go."

This project has been in the works for a LONG TIME, and it's as good as it sounds.

Official tracklisting:

01. Intropy (Original Version)
02. Vee in Detroit
03. Dreams of a Piece
04. The Not-So-Quiet Storm
05. Fast Rap Fanfare
06. Intensely Hitting
07. Mystical With Solo
08. Alright
09. Don’t Try It
10. From the Old School
11. Freddi’s Popcorn
12. Quickstep
13. Movin’ On (Gab Demo 1)
14. Falling Up
15. Mellow But Chunky
16. Total Breakdown (Gab Demo 2)
17. Heavy Mood
18. Affectations
19. Perilous Journey (Gab Demo 3)
20. Aye
21. Brittle But Magic
22. Atmospheric Disturbances
23. Swimming Upstream (Gab Demo 4)
24. Up for Grabs Bonus Tracks:
25. Give Up the Drums
26. Slow Poke
27. Vortex

Part of the btnLogo Network!